Early On: The Best of the Mississippi Recordings

Early On  Early On Disc Front  Get Your Motor Running

You tell them everything,
You don’t know anything,
It’s all a master plan,
You’re just a robot man!

- “Robot Man” - track 16 from “Early On”

SteveForbert.com is proud to announce the release of Early On: The Best of the Mississippi Recordings!

The album includes TWENTY SONGS recorded in Mississippi between 1972-1976 with a number of different band configurations (The Invaders, Cottonrock, and Sabastian Carrot). All of the tracks were recorded prior to Steve's move to New York City and the release of his debut album, Alive On Arrival, in 1978.

Steve has commented that these tracks are some of his very favorites from throughout his career!

Continue reading to stream “Off On the Run” and “Nothin’ In the World” from Early On: The Best of the Mississippi Recordings.

In addition, we are releasing “Get Your Motor Running!” – a live set that was recorded in Meridian, MS, on September 2, 2011, at a one off show with The Queen City Fever Band.

This disc was previously available as part of a larger Over With You bundle and is now seeing a general release for the first time. The 10 tracks include a number of Forbert classics and three fantastic cover songs ("Heartbreak Hotel," "Rock & Roll," and "Born To Be Wild"). Meridianites Clay Barnes (lead guitar) and Adam Box (drums) are joined by Kenny Ames on bass guitar.

Stream Steve’s cover of “Heartbreak Hotel” from “Get Your Motor Running!” below.

Both of these new discs will be available for sale individually or as part of a larger bundle that will allow you to purchase the two albums along with an autographed copy of Steve’s new studio release, Over With You.

All items are currently in stock and ready to ship! Use the links below to place your order and thank you for all of your support this year!

Early On & Over With You CD and T-Shirt Bundle

   * Over With You AUTOGRAPHED CD
   * Early On: The Best of the Mississippi Recordings CD
   * "Get Your Motor Running!" CD
   * Your choice of one of our Over With You T-Shirts

Price: $40

Early On: The Best of the Mississippi Recordings CD

Price: $15

"Get Your Motor Running!" CD

Price: $10

Early On: The Best of the Mississippi Recordings
Collects tracks recorded in Mississippi by Steve Forbert (with various bands) from 1972-1976

1. "Is Ev'rybody Ready...?"
2. You (The Ink)
3. Off On The Run
4. Soul Time
5. Lonely, Lonely, Lonely
6. Goin' Down To Laurel
7. Clay Burns
8. It's Wrong
9. Please, Please, Please
10. Nothin' In The World
11. Jeminy (And The Barebacked Puzzle)
12. Comedy Heights
13. Only You (And Nobody Else)
14. One Lucky Break
15. Around The World
16. Robot Man
17. Slow Down, Baby
18. Six Gun Love
19. It Ain't Gonna Rain (If Wayne Don't Want It To)
20. Something To Hide?
21. Winter Wind

"Get Your Motor Running!"
Steve Forbert and the Queen City Fever Band
Recorded Live on September 2, 2011 at the Temple Theater in Meridian, MS

1. Baby, Don't
2. Heartbreak Hotel
3. Song For Katrina
4. Responsibility
5. Born To Be Wild
6. What Kinda Guy?
7. Steve Forbert's Midsummer Night's Toast
8. Romeo's Tune
9. Don't Look Down, Pollyanna
10. Rock & Roll / You Can Not Win If You Do Not Play


SteveForbert.com Copyright 2012.  All Rights Reserved.